home icon / F1 News, Reports and Results / Abt disqualified from Sunday's Hong Kong ePrix!

Abt disqualified from Sunday's Hong Kong ePrix!


Audi's Daniel Abt has been stripped of his maiden Formula E win following a post-race technical infringement in Hong Kong.

Abt won Sunday's round of the Hong Kong ePrix after race leader Edoardo Mortara spun with just two laps to go.

But a post-race technical inspection revealed that the FIA security stickers stamped on the Audi's inverters and motors were not those referenced on the car's technical passport.

The discrepancy is a clear breach of Formula E's technical and sporting regulations, and left no other choice for the stewards but to disqualify the German driver and hand the victory to second-place man Felix Rosenqvist.

Audi's Allan McNish said the team had taken the decision to appeal the FIA stewards' decision.

"The person who crossed the line first was Daniel Abt," said McNish.

"From our perspective it was a very strong race. He drove really really well and was there every time there was an opportunity to grab.

"However, it's been a bitter-sweet ending to the day. Now we have taken the view and looked at it and taken the intent t appeal the process, and that is the situation as we speak."

In a separate infringement, Audi was also fined €5000 for letting five team members walk onto the track to make their way to the podium before the final car had entered 'parc fermé', a "serious breach of safety regulations", according to the stewards.

Provisional Race Results - 2017 HKT Hong Kong E-Prix (Rd 2)
The result remains provisional subject to an appeal to the FIA International Court of Appeal by Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, against the stewards' decision to disqualify Abt from the event.

1 - Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing, 50:05.084s (29)
2 - Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Formula E Team, +7.031s (18)
3 - Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, +10.619s (15)
4 - Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, +12.593s (12)
5 - Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, +12.879s (10)
6 - Oliver Turvey, NIO Formula E Team, +14.199s (8)
7 - Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E Team, 15.676s (6)
8 - Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, +18.905s (4)
9 - Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing, +19.025s (2)
10 - Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams, +22.139s (1)

11 - Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti Formula E, +23.359s
12 - Nelson Piquet Jr, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, +27.904s
13 - Andre Lotterer, TECHEETAH, +28.591s
14 - Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, +39.137s
15 - Jerome D'Ambrosio, DRAGON, +55.189s
16 - Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing, +1 Lap
17 - Kamui Kobayashi, Andretti Formula E, +1 Lap
18 - Neel Jani, DRAGON, +1 Lap

DNF - Luca Filippi, NIO Formula E Team, 36 Laps
DSQ - Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, 45 Laps

Gallery: The beautiful wives and girlfriends of F1 drivers

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter