home icon / F1 News, Reports and Results / FIA officially signs-off on 21-race calendar for 2018

FIA officially signs-off on 21-race calendar for 2018


Formula 1 racing’s governing body, the FIA has formally signed off next year's 21-race world championship calendar. The approval was given at a meeting of the World Motor Sport Council on Wednesday.

The new season sees the addition of two races in France and Germany. Germany was missing from last year's itinerary, while France has been absent since 2008.

The number of races will rise by one compared with 2017, as Malaysia will no longer host a Grand Prix in 2018.

The season will start as usual with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne on March 25. Abu Dhabi once again hosts the season finale at the Yas Marina Circuit on November 25.

The Bahrain and Chinese races swap round, with Sakhir now the second race of the 2018 campaign followed by Shanghai two weeks later.

The Azerbaijan Grand Prix in Baku jumps forward and will now be held on April 29. It takes the slot previously held by the Russian Grand Prix, which will instead take place on September 30. That's to avoid a clash with the build up to the FIFA World Cup.

The United States Grand Prix scheduled for October 21 at the Circuit of the Americas is still listed as being subject to confirmation by the national sporting authority. It is not currently clear what the hold-up might be in this case, and the race is expected to go ahead as planned.

2018 Race Calendar

Round Race Date
1 Australian Grand Prix (Melbourne) 25 March
2 Bahrain Grand Prix (Sakhir) 8 April
3 Chinese Grand Prix (Shanghai) 15 April
4 Azerbaijan Grand Prix (Baku) 29 April
5 Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona) 13 May
6 Monaco Grand Prix (Monte Carlo) 27 May
7 Canadian Grand Prix (Montreal) 10 June
8 French Grand Prix (Le Castellet) 24 June
9 Austrian Grand Prix (Spielberg) 1 July
10 British Grand Prix (Silverstone) 8 July
11 German Grand Prix (Hockenheim) 22 July
12 Hungarian Grand Prix (Budapest) 29 July
13 Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps) 26 August
14 Italian Grand Prix (Monza) 2 September
15 Singapore Grand Prix (Marina Bay) 16 September
16 Russian Grand Prix (Sochi) 30 September
17 Japanese Grand Prix (Suzuka) 7 October
18 United States Grand Prix * (Austin) 21 October
19 Mexican Grand Prix (Mexico City) 28 October
20 Brazilian Grand Prix (Interlagos) 11 November
21 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Yas Marina) 25 November

* - subject to confirmation by the national sporting authority

Gallery: The beautiful wives and girlfriends of F1 drivers

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter