home icon / Technical / The 101st Indy 500: Thirty-three gunning for glory!

The 101st Indy 500: Thirty-three gunning for glory!

' '

The biggest single-day sporting event in the world will be held this Sunday. Among the 11-row, 33-car field for the 101st edition of the Indianapolis 500 are 7 former winners and 4 ex-F1 drivers, and a certain two-time world champ of course. Who will have his - or her - portrait immortalized on the Borg-Warner Trophy? Here are the contenders.


Scott Dixon – Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda (1st 08’, 2 poles 08’&17’)

The Australian born New Zealander, Scott Dixon set a four-lap average speed of 232.164 mph to take pole position for the 101st edition of the Indy 500. This ‘Kiwi’ is overdue a second triumph to pair with his 2008 success, which he started from pole. Omen?

Ed Carpenter – Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet (2 poles, 5th 08’)

Ed Carpenter will start from the middle of row one. The Indianapolis native cut his racing teeth in Sprint Cars. In 2003 he won the Indy Lights race at IMS. He was a journeyman at best for 8 seasons. In 2012, he formed his own team and took the Fontana season finale. From 2014 he has only competed on the ovals, taking the Indy pole in 2013 and 14’.

Alexander Rossi – Andretti – Herta Autosport-Honda (1st 16’)

Alexander Rossi will start from the outside of row one. In 2015, Alex finished runner-up in GP2 and was called up by Manor Marussia F1 for 5 GPs. For 2016 he hooked up with Andretti Autosport. A roll of the dice with fuel saw Rossi win the 100th edition of the Memorial Day weekend classic in one of the most unexpected triumphs in Indy history, the tenth by a rookie.